This meal was wonderfully comforting. A vegan healthy corn pudding that tastes like its delicious dairy-laden cousin =) A pumpkin seitan sausage with sauteed baby bellas and a delicious carrot puree…. yes, comforting indeed…

Let me just say that the words carrot puree do not normally excite me. In fact as I was preparing this dish from Color Me Vegan, I had pretty low expectations… not sure why but boy was I wrong! This was absolutely delicious! I will definitely me making it again and again! =)

Carrot Puree: adapted from Color Me Vegan

  • 1/2 cup veggie stock
  • 6 large carrots cut into uniform chunks
  • 1/2 tsp of salt
  • 2 TB nondairy milk (I used my homemade oat milk)
  • 1 TB sucanat
  • 1 TB olive oil
  1. Bring the vegetable broth to a boil and add the carrots and the salt. Simmer until the carrots are softened.
  2. Place the carrots, veggie broth and milk in a food processor and pulse until desired texture.
  3. Add the sucanat and olive oil and pulse again – Enjoy!

Pumpkin Fauxsage: from 500 Vegan Recipes

  • 1 1/2 cups wheat gluten
  • 1/4 cup nutritional yeast
  • 1 tsp paprika
  • 2 tsp dried sage
  • 1 tsp oregano
  • 1/2 tsp pepper
  • 2 tsp granulated onion
  • 1/4 tsp cayenne pepper
  • 1/4 tsp nutmeg
  • 1 TB Sucanat
  • 3/4 cup of veggie broth
  • 1/4 cup of pumpkin puree
  • 2 TB safflower oil
  1. Mix the dry ingredients in a large bowl.  Mix the wet ingredients in a smaller bowl and then add to the dry ingredients. You may add more pumpkin puree if the mixture is too dry. Knead the dough.
  2. You can either shape into one long log and wrap in foil and bake at 325 for 1 1/2 hours or I separated the fauxsage into 5 sausage links, wrapped them in foil and steamed them for around an hour.

Hope that everyone has a great Wednesday! I am planning tofu and coconut brown rice for tonight =)

