So the protein of this meal was actually some alaskan pollock, panfried in butter, garlic and chili powder. But as with most fish dishes I prepare (which doesn’t occur very often) this one fell to pieces in the pan. Sure the pieces were delicious and browned and very flavorful… but not much to look at to be quite honest =) So I’ve decided to spare you the picture while leaving you the link to this great recipe.

Vegan Casear Salad Dressing: from VegNews Magazine

  • 1/2 cup cashews
  • 1/4 cup of shelled hemp seeds
  • 1/4 cup of nutritional yeast
  • 1/4 tsp of salt
  • juice of two lemons
  • black pepper to taste
  • 3 pitted dates
  • 1 tsp dulse flakes (I didn’t have these, so I just omitted them)
  • 3/4 cup of water (just realized I only added 1/4 – whoops =)
  • 2 celery stalks chopped

Blend all ingredients in a blender until smooth.

Well that’s easy enough right? Imagine a vegan dressing without any oil! The fact that I didn’t add enough water definitely made our batch very thick so I didn’t spoon very much on the salad. Silly me, maybe I need my eyes checked..

We kinda went salad crazy last night . I served the crumbled fish with the casear salad, a citrus wheat berry salad (I looove this stuff) and a curried quinoa salad that I had made over the weekend. A little much? Maybe. But hey we enjoyed it =) Hope everyone has a great Thursday!

