Hello =) Late post for today =) Nathan didn’t have class until late in the morning and I didn’t get around to blogging last night.

Often I get in the mood for a soup salad and bread supper. It is simple, yet it is three courses. Salads are usually pretty easy to put together, some fresh produce, some whisked dressing and voila! If you have bread baked ahead of time, this supper becomes even easier! =)

I used the same recipe for gluten free bread that I used in this post and it was yummy as always =) I ground some more gluten free flour and used organic pumpkin pie filling instead of regular pumpkin puree (it worked just as well). I also used a gelatin and flaxseed mixture to replace the xanthan gum.

The texture of the bread turned out well, although it was still fairly crumbly (this could of been because I had the temperature turned higher than the recipe stated… oops)

For the soup part of my meal I picked a Curried Carrot recipe, adapted from Ginna Bell Bragg and David Simon’s A Simple Celebration. It was easy to make and very tasty. This is one of those soups that warms you from the inside out =)

Curried Carrot Soup: adapted from A Simple Pleasure

  • 1 tsp of olive oil
  • 8 medium carrots, peeled and cut into pieces
  • 1 medium onion
  • 1/2 vegetable bouillon cube
  • 2 TB braggs liquid aminos
  • salt to taste
  • 1 tsp of cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp of turmeric
  • 1/2 tsp of ginger
  • 1/4 tsp of chili flakes

Saute carrots and onion in olive oil for 7 minutes, stirring often. Add remaining ingredients and cook until veggies are soft. Puree with a handheld soup blender, our pour into a blender and blend until smooth.

For the salad I made a sweet poppyseed dressing and poured it on some green leaf lettuce, strawberries, red raspberries and toasted walnuts. Yum =) It was good (recipe for dressing at the bottom of the post).

 

I once again apologize for the picture quality. I recently saw on neverhomemaker how they made an inexpensive light box, and I am inspired! My birthday weekend is in a couple of days so Nathan and I will hopefully be putting one together. (I am pretty excited =).  Well I am off to clean the living room =) Hope that everyone has a great Tuesday!

Recipes:

Don’t forget to like ahealthyendeavor on facebook here, and receive updates for every new post.


