I saw this recipe on neverhomemaker last week and was happy when Nathan and I found acorn squash for sale. I love acorn squash, mostly because it is a lot easier to clean out than say, a butternut squash. I made a few changes to the recipe that I will note here. (The link to the full original recipes can be found at the bottom of the post).

  • I steamed the potatoes in a steamer basket
  • Used homemade oat milk instead of almond
  • Baked the acorn squash for around an hour instead of 30 minutes (it took awhile to soften)
  • Added garlic powder, nutritional yeast, chili powder, salt and pepper to taste

I served the acorn squash with a side salad topped with my first attempt at hard boiled eggs (pretty good results), carrots, onions, cilantro and creamy tahini dressing.

I also topped the salad with Chickpea Croutons which I made up for a yummy gluten free alternative. These are super easy and very good!

Chickpea Croutons

  • 1 15 ounce can of chickpeas
  • 1 TB of tahini
  • 1 scant tsp of chili powder
  • 1/2 tsp of paprika
  • 1-2 TB of nutritional yeast
  • 1 TB Braggs liquid aminos
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • tsp or so of water
  • 2 tsp of black sesame seeds

Preheat oven to 400 degrees. Put all ingredients (except salt and pepper) in food processor and process until mostly smooth and it is easy to form into little balls. Mix in the salt and pepper. Form into the size croutons you want and place on an oiled baking sheet.

Bake at 400 degrees until completely brown, light and dry. This took me around 40 minutes, though I didn’t keep a close watch, so just check them ever so often until they feel like croutons =).

Yesterday I also made almond butter and almond flour. We have so many almonds around right now I can’t believe I haven’t thought about it yet. The almonds were roasted with sea salt but no oil so the butter was not very spreadable, a little more powdery, but still very yummy. I chose not to add the oil because I mostly use almond butter for raw desserts and other recipes so texture is no a big deal.

Nathan and I were also able to go grocery shopping yesterday (yay!) We loaded up on produce and some essential paper products, it was lots of fun! (Grocery shopping is one of our favorite things to do together =)

Well, I think that’s it for today =) I just got done eating the best ice cream for breakfast 😉 Oat milk, almond butter, frozen bananas, chia seeds and ice cubes… yum! Nathan gets done early today and we have plans later this evening so I’m excited. I’m off to do lots of dishes from last night (I was too lazy to do it yesterday) =)

Recipes:

Don’t forget to like ahealthyendeavor on facebook so you can get updates for every new post =).

Share

