Last night’s dinner was simple and healthy. I had wanted to try this lentil loaf recipe from Chez Cayenne for a little while now. Yum. Perfect substitute for meatloaf, and so few ingredients! =). I used some veggie broth that I made and froze last week from vegetable scraps I had been saving in the fridge. (This is my new favorite thing to do, basically no waste compared to making broth from whole ingredients). It smelled so good as the lentils and rice bubbled in the broth.

I baked these for around 40 minutes, which left the loaf brown and crispy on the outside with a moist inside. (just like meatloaf =) I wish I would have made some sort of homemade ketchup or barbeque sauce to go on top. But that’s okay because there will be many more opportunities to do so since I’m planning on using this recipe often =) (link at the bottom of the post).  I did serve the loaf with roasted turnips (a little honey, sesame oil, salt, pepper, safflower oil and dijon mustard) and steamed carrots with a little butter and salt.

I also made some yummy peanut butter cookies that were based off of Moskowitz & Romero’s Vegan Cookies Invade Your Cookie Jar. This awesome book has a gluten free flour mix that is easy and and a one to one ratio.

Peanut Butter Cookies (adapted from this book)

  • 1/2 cup of honey
  • scant 1/4 cup of brown rice syrup
  • 1/3 cup of safflower oil
  • 2/3 cup of peanut butter
  • 2 TB water
  • 1 TB ground flax seeds
  • 2 tsp vanilla
  • 2 1/4 cups of gluten free flour
  • 1 tsp of baking soda
  • 1/4 tsp of salt

1. Preheat oven to 325 degrees

2. Whisk honey, brown rice syrup (gluten free), safflower oil, peanut butter, water, flax and vanilla in a large bowl

3. Sift in flour, baking soda and salt. Drop large spoonfuls onto an oiled baking stone and bake for ten minutes.

These were awesome =) I had quite a few =)…. I hope that everyone has a great Wednesday! Nathan has class early this morning and then we are going grocery shopping (my favorite=). Until next time! =)

Recipes

