Well, I’m back =) Some of you may have noticed that I have not updated since last Thursday, and for that I apologize. Our weekend was busy, but lots of fun! We went home and got to see two friends we haven’t seen in over six months, go to a concert, go shopping, golfing, and spend some wonderful time with family. So, it was worth the blogging-break. But perhaps I should be a little more honest. Besides not having a minute to spare I have also been bored with recipe posting lately. I think it is a combination of several things. One being that lately I haven’t been taking the time to snap nice photographs of our food (evidence of this can be found above), sure they are alright, but nothing to get excited about. Another reason could be that I am still figuring out this whole gluten free bread thing and I’m not quite ready to post about it yet. I’m thinking though that this recent break was good, and that once I get going again I will get right back into the yummy habit of making, and sharing good food =).

So… what better way to ‘come back’ than my first SOS Challenge entry =) This month’s ingredient was sesame seeds (click here for this month’s homepage). I decided to use some homemade tahini and whip up Tahini Bars with homemade chocolate chips.

Tahini Bars

  • 1/2 cup peanut butter
  • 1/2 tahini (recipe here)
  • 1/2 cup gluten free brown rice syrup
  • 1 tsp of vanilla
  • 3/4 cup of brown rice flour or oat flour
  • 3/4 cup millet flour
  • 1/2 cup of shredded coconut
  • 1/2 cup of sunflower seeds
  • 1/2 cup of homemade chips (recipe below)

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Combine all ingredients and drop by spoonfuls on oiled cookie sheets, or pour mix into an oiled baking dish for bars. Bake for 10-15 minutes.

Homemade Chocolate Chips (for a non vegan version you can use honey)

These are delicious, and healthy too! I couldn’t stop eating them! Try not to let them get too brown (like I did) because they crumble like crazy. Of course I had no problem with eating spoonfuls of crumbs. If you are interested in entering a recipe in the SOS Challenge you can find all the guidelines here. Have a nice Tuesday!

