I have to admit, finding recipes for our weeknight dinners has been harder since switching to gluten free. I don’t know what I would do without dietdessertanddogs. That is where I found this recipe for meat and gluten free ‘sausage’ patties. The flavor was great (although not very reminiscent of sausage, but that might be because I fried it in homemade coconut butter (coming soon =) ). It was quick and simple to prepare.

I served the patties with my first attempt at gluten free bread. I got the recipe out of this wonderful little book by Jennifer Katzinger called Flying Apron’s Gluten-Free & Vegan Baking Book. I love this book so far. The bread I made had a delicious sweet yet hearty flavor. The only dilemma is that I have no xanthan gum or guar gum. Really it is a problem. I’ve scoured the internet for a substitute that is not expensive, like gelatin (not vegan, I know) or agar agar or ground flax. This time I used some coconut flour and ground flax. Like I said, the flavor was awesome and the texture was great too, except for one thing, it was extremely crumbly. Does anyone have any suggestions?

In order to make the bread I had to grind my own flours (I love my Vitamix! ). I ground chickpea, brown rice, coconut and flax seed flour. It didn’t take long with the Vitamix and was pretty fun =)

The bread had to bake at 300 degrees for two hours, which is super long compared to a normal loaf. Overall I am pretty pleased with the way it turned out. Sure it is not sandwich bread in any way, but it is still yummy. Hopefully I will soon find a suitable xanthan gum replacement and if gluten really is the culprit of my stomach problems then I will probably invest some money in special ingredients.

Along side the bread and ‘sausage’ patties I roasted some asparagus with Braggs Liquid Aminos, olive oil, salt, red pepper flakes and black pepper. I didn’t really measure the spices, just dumped, stirred and slid in the oven for 10-15 minutes at 400 degrees.

Well, that was last night’s dinner, (along with some great raw brownies that I will post soon). Hope that everyone has a great Tuesday! Nathan is studying up a storm right now and I am cooking, cleaning and trying to figure out what my next step should be as far as a career goes. I am definitely thankful that God is in control! Don’t forget to like  ahealthyendeavor on facebook here!

