Happy Monday! How was everyone’s weekend?? Did you enjoy the autumn air as much as we did? Seriously. Columbus has had the most beautifully perfect weather lately (at least in my opinion, I’m sure it is a little too breezy and chilly in the morning for some). I love to walk in the cool morning air. I have been walking a lot lately and running not so much =) It has been lovely, I think my body was ready for a change. The cool thing is my mileage this week was way more than normal (a little over 18) so I’m riding this out until I get bored =). Congrats to all the people who ran the Columbus half and full marathon yesterday- what a great accomplishment!

Last night Nathan and I were not hungry until close to nine (we had chipotle for lunch – mine was sans tortilla… super yummy! I have to say it is extremely hard to eat out when you aren’t eating gluten). So I went into the kitchen around 7:30, after a two hour nap with the hubby =). The sunlight was basically gone in the kitchen so I brought in a white light from the music room, I don’t know why I hadn’t thought of it before. It definitely improved my night time photos (although its still not as nice as natural light).

I decided to make a Sunflower Pate from the Lunches, Picnics & Appetizers Tassajara Cookbook. I was excited to try the recipes in this book, and this first one was great. I adapted it to be gluten free and changed a few other things.

Savory Sunflower Pate

  • 1 small onion, coarsely chopped
  • 1/2 cup olive oil (I used a little less)
  • 1/2 cup warm water
  • 1/4 cup Braggs Liquid Aminos
  • 2 small potatoes
  • 1 cup raw shelled sunflower seeds
  • 1/2 cup brown rice flour
  • 1/3 cup nutritional yeast
  • 1 clove of garlic
  • 1/2 tsp marjoram, 1/2 tsp oregano, 1/2 tsp sage

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Saute onion in 1 tbsp of olive oil until soft. Then add onion and all other ingredients into a food processor and blend until smooth.

Pour into a greased loaf pan and bake for about an hour. Cool thoroughly and store in refrigerator in plastic wrap for up to 2 weeks.

I served this pate with tofu marinated in Braggs Liquid Aminos for half an hour. I broiled the tofu for ten minutes on each side and we ate it with the pate, a little bit of dijon mustard, tomato and lettuce. Yum =)

I also made this big pot of veggie soup for our lunches this week, I haven’t tasted it yet though, hope its good =).


Well I’m hoping to clean up the house today and get going in the kitchen early. There are a few recipes I have been really excited to try (especially homemade coconut butter and tahini =). I also want to try and sell some textbooks on half.com and set up an advisor appointment for school…still not sure what direction I should go with my education (formal or self taught… culinary school or medical dietitics….) Any suggestions? =) Hope everyone has a great week!

