I found this recipe on a great website called Affairs of Living. There are lots of yummy-looking recipes with a gluten free ingredient list. While we were visiting home Nathan and I picked up these cute sweet pumpkins for fifty cents each. I realize that making pumpkin pie is not the most original idea in the world, but my lack of pie-creating experience mixed with my new dietary challenge, made for a more than average experience. =)

First off, I had to clean out the seeds and roast the pumpkins, and I have to say that I hate cleaning squash… As I scooped out the stringy seedy insides I remembered a similar experience I had with a butternut squash last week… Anyways besides that the pumpkin prep was pretty easy.

The pie crust was delicious and fun to make! It remained very crumbly so I stuck it in the freezer for a bit. It was still pretty crumbly when I pressed it into my cake pan (I actually don’t own any pie pans which should show you how often we have pie =) but after it was baked it turned out just fine =)

I didn’t see where I was supposed to puree the pumpkin so our pie filling was a little different texture than normal =) but I still loved it. Nathan liked it too, though he said it almost wasn’t sweet enough to be dessert and he would almost rather eat it for a main meal =) Pumpkin pie recipe.

And here is a picture of my awesome apron that my sister-in-law made me for my birthday last year. I love it =) It’s reversible and washable! Visit her blog at cottagekeepings.

Alright, hope everyone has a nice Wednesday, Nathan has the afternoon off so I am excited =). I’m also excited that tomorrow I get to see Adam Richman at a new grocery store opening up downtown!!! I love Man vs. Food and I’m certainly going to try and snap some pictures for my blog! Oh yeah, don’t forget to like ahealthyendeavor on facebook here.

