Well, its Monday morning again =) Nathan and I had a relaxing weekend here and back home at our parents. I am still experimenting with a gluten-free diet and it has definitely brought some changes to how I feel in a short time. Of course it is all too early to determine whether gluten is the culprit, but I can wait =)

I found this recipe on a glutenfreegoddess. It was lots of veggie chopping but other than that the prep was nice and quick – just throw everything in a pot and simmer until the flavors all meld together and the squash softens (around an hour). I put one and a half jalapeno peppers in ours and it had a very cleansing and yummy spice =)

Butternut Squash Chili Recipe

I also made my favorite carrot salad dressing and whipped up a quick salad. It was comprised of red leaf lettuce, tomatoes, carrots, radishes, and my new discovery – chickpea croutons. These came about because of some ground chickpeas I had sitting in the fridge leftover from the pumpkin mac and cheese. Normally this would sit, forgotten, or rather purposely neglected until it became moldy…. not a wonderful example of waste not want not.

So this time I put the leftover ground chickpeas in the food processor with some Braggs Liquid Aminos, nutritional yeast, chili powder, paprika, tahini and a little bit of water. I then spooned tablespoons of it onto an oiled baking sheet, sprinkled some black sesame seeds and baked them at 400 until brown and crispy. I was surprised at how yummy they were – my sister and Nathan loved them too! I will be making these often…. =) Since I didn’t measure spices I’ll try to post a more accurate recipe soon. =)

Also Nathan and I were able to go grocery shopping last Thursday and stock up on some yummy produce items. (Including three heads of cauliflower that will be used for a meat substitute….yes you heard me right =) ). We also picked up some gluten free brown rice pasta from Trader Joes so I’m excited to use that as well. And my new addiction, honey nut rice cakes from Whole Foods…. (add peanutbutter and sliced fruit and you have a delicious healthy snack).

Don’t forget to like ahealthyendeavor on facebook here. Have a great Monday!

