Well Thursday I was able to accomplish many of my kitchen goals…. homemade peanut butter, pumpkin macaroni, caramal dip, roasted broccoli and ‘cheesy’ garbanzo beans. It was lots of fun and was all accomplished after a half hour of yoga, half hour of pilates and a three mile run. Yeah, I am being somewhat boastful, but only because I wish all of my days would start like that, but as you can probably guess, they do not. =)

Well the homemade peanut butter was super fast, easy, and delicious. I love knowing exactly what goes into one of my favorite source of protein =) My sister also loved it, and she is a big fan of the commercial brand, so I believe it passed the test!

  • Unsalted Roasted Peanuts
  • salt to taste
  • You can add some raw sugar, honey, cinnamon, vanilla, anything that sweetens it up a bit.

This caramel dip from The Whole Life Nutrition Kitchen, was raw, healthy and  delicious. We dipped apple slices in homemade peanut butter and this dip while watching 30 Rock and the Office =).

This made a pretty large batch so I was also able to eat it spread on toast for a sweet breakfast and for a midnight snack right now =) (Unfortunately my husband is also snacking and chose some delicious potato chips. I must admit my hand has reached into the bag a couple of times. I’m thinking its time for another detox, and I’ll try to blog about it daily this time =)

This pumpkin mac and cheese was delicious, and based on neverhomemaker’s recipe. I put in quite a bit more milk since it was becoming just a heated stringy ball of cheese in the saucepan. It might have been that I was using our homemade oat milk which is probably not as thick or creamy as almond milk. I also added more paprika and some chili powder. It turned out lovely and I was happy to use some of a large can of pumpkin we had collecting dust in the pantry.

I served the pasta with some whole wheat bread crumbs (from toasted homemade sandwich buns) and roasted broccoli. The broccoli was seasoned with salt, red pepper flakes, Braggs liquid aminoes, chili powder, and black pepper. It turned out well and was good along side the cheesy pasta.

And then finally, roasted chick peas. These are possibly the best vegan party food I know. A little bit of salt, paprika and nutritional yeast and you’ve got an addicting snack that is healthy too! I usually roast them at 400 degrees for around half an hour, stirring every 7-10 minutes. Make sure they are nice and crunchy before pulling them out =).

Well that was my day, and that’s not a new rug in the kitchen, its my pilates mat. Cooking and calisthenics? – I think that’s a nice combination =) Have a great Monday!

