Well, I have a confession to make, if you could call it that…. I have been in quite the salad funk. That is, anything raw, leafy and green has sounded unappealing, and dare I say, bland, tasteless, boring… I’ve had a few homemade salad dressings that I fell in love with at one point. Perhaps I overused them, or perhaps I’m just too lazy to make them =) At any rate, I was willing to give something new a try, something that could maybe make my salads more exciting to the taste buds.

This pate recipe came from the book The 30 Minute Vegan by Mark Reinfeld and Jennifer Murray. I adapted it somewhat from the original, but overall I was very impressed, and happy with the results =).

Pepita Pate: (makes 1 1/2 cups)

  • 1 1/2 cups pumpkin seeds
  • pinch of garlic powder
  • 1/2 cup water
  • 2 tbs lime juice
  • 2 tbs nutritional yeast
  • 2 tbs minced fresh cilantro
  • 2 tsp olive oil (optional)
  • 1/2 tsp chile powder
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp Braggs Liquid Aminos

Soak pumpkin seeds in 3 cups of water for 5 to 10 minutes. Drain and rinse well.

Place in food processor with remaining ingredients and process until smooth but not watery. (You can add more water if your processor is not strong enough).

Will keep for three days when stored in a glass container in the fridge.

And , thanks to this pate, as well as some ‘cheesy’ and curry rice crackers, I have fallen in love with salad again! (I suppose salad might be the wrong word…. =) This was yummy, nutritious, and filling! Pumpkin seeds are a great source of protein and iron.

Doesn’t this look yummy and pretty =) So anyways that’s all for today I suppose. Hope that everyone is having an awesome weekend! We are back at home, staying with my parents this weekend, and its been fun so far!

Don’t forget to like our facebook page here, and receive updates for every new post!

