Well another week begins, and I feel happy that all the boxes have been unpacked and things have been stacked and organized, our little home has really come a long way =). And now, time to cook! Thankfully my days have opened up so that I can spend lots of time in the kitchen (for now anyways =) ).

Last night I made vegan paella for supper. I adapted the recipe from Robin Robertson’s Fresh From the Vegetarian Slow Cooker. The funny thing is I didn’t actually use the slow cooker for the whole thing, basically because I was cleaning and exercising into the afternoon and should have started the whole process earlier. Then when Nathan came home with a headache, I thought I should fill him with warm nutritious paella as soon as possible!

Vegan Paella: adapted from Fresh from the Vegetarian Slow Cooker

  • 2 Tbs olive oil
  • 1 medium onion
  • 1 small diced green pepper
  • 3 carrots, chopped
  • 3 tomatoes, diced
  • 2 garlic cloves, minced
  • One 15 ounce can of kidney beans
  • 3 cups of vegetable stock
  • 1/2 tsp red pepper flakes
  • 2 bay leaves
  • Salt and black pepper
  • 1 cup of brown rice
  • 8 ounces of vegetarian sausage cut to whatever size you like best. (recipe soon to come =)
  • One 8 ounce can of mushrooms
  • 1 cup of frozen peas, thawed

1. Put 1 Tbsp of olive oil and 1 chopped onion into a large stock pan. Cover and cook until the onion is soft and translucent.

2. Add the chopped bell pepper, carrots, tomatoes, garlic, kidney beans, stock, pepper flakes and bay leaves. Season with salt and black pepper. Cover and let cook until veggies are soft and the flavors have melded together. (About 20-30 minutes)

3. Stir in the rice, bring to a boil, and then cover and cook on low until rice is tender.

4. Meanwhile heat the remaining 1 Tbsp of olive oil in a non stick skillet over medium high heat. Add the sausage links and saute until browned. Now set aside.

5. Once the rice is tender add the sausage, mushrooms and peas to the paella. Cover and cook until everything is hot. Enjoy!

I served mine with quick homemade whole wheat tortilla chips and some guacamole ( 2 small avocados, salt to taste, splash of lemon juice).

Well there you have it! =) As you can see I converted the whole recipe to a no-crock pot version. Also I substituted and eliminated some ingredients so whether this is an accurate paella is beyond me! But it was really tasty. Nathan loved it and its a good thing he did because we have so many leftovers for him to eat for lunch! =)

Don’t forget to ‘like’ us on facebook here!

