I love the library. I can spend large quantities of time searching their supposedly limitless online catalogs. I pick six or seven favorite items and they arrive to my local library, which is minutes away, as soon as they are available. (I would like to take a second to express my extreme disappointment that my county libraries only have up to season seven of Columbo =( . ) One of my favorite things to get is, of course cookbooks! I like to search Amazon and Borders for the newest ones and then request them from the library. Well anyways, these are some of my favorite cookbooks right now:

Ani’s Raw Food Kitchen

Ani’s Raw Food Essentials

Ani Phyo’s books are wonderful! Raw cooking, (or rather uncooking) has always intrigued me and I am becoming quite fond of eggplant bacon and raw ice cream cake! Unlike some raw books this one has very accessible ingredients. The recipes are quick and simple. I’m looking very forward to trying her Buckwheat Crispies and Blueberry soup with Cashew Kream.

Moosewood Restaurant: Cooking for Health

It shouldn’t be a surprise that their is at least one Moosewood cookbook on my list. This particular one is great! It has less vegan options, but is a great vegetarian resource. I especially love the Kale and Sweet Potato side dish, as well as the Red Lentil Curry Burgers.

Veganomicon

This book is great! Filled with lots of tasty, filling recipes. I’m pretty sure that Nathan’s favorite meal is their chickpea cutlets with mustard sauce. I also love the vegan herb quick bread. Whenever I want fresh bread for dinner and am pressed for time, I whip this delicious loaf up. It is very savory and perfect for seitan sandwiches, along side pasta, or roasted with olive oil and garlic.

Feeding the Whole Family

This book is great. Cynthia Lair uses quality whole ingredients and her recipes are delicious! The Red Quinoa Kidney Bean chili is wonderful and I’ve made if several times now – easy, nutritious, and delicious!

Well, those are some of my favorites right now, there are of course others but these are at the top of my list right now =)

Don’t forget to subscribe in order to receive email updates for ahealthyendeavor. Or email us at ahealthyendeavor@gmail.com with any questions or healthy living ideas!


