This being my first entry on a lovely new site, I have decided to post a recipe that I go back to time and again. I have given this to several people upon request and it is a fun and pretty bread to make and give away. One batch makes a long loaf, so I usually cut it into two pieces and store or give it that way.

I also thought this bread was appropriate because it is jewish egg bread. I am currently going through an improvised vegan detox diet and I’m taking lots of pictures to share! But until I have it all completed I thought I would show you a really yummy bread recipe without the vegan perimeters. Enjoy!

Challah: Jewish Egg Bread

adapted from Anna Thomas’ The Vegetarian Epicure

  • 1 package of yeast
  • 2 tsp raw cane sugar
  • 1 1/4 cups warm water
  • 4 1/2 cups white whole wheat flour
  • 2 tsp salt
  • 2 eggs
  • 2 Tbs. oil
  • 1 egg yolk
  • sesame seeds or poppy seeds

Dissolve the yeast in 1/4 cup of the water and add the sugar. Sift flour together with the salt into a large mixing bowl and add the 2 eggs, the oil, and the rest of the water, as well as the yeast mixture.

Stir vigorously until all is well-blended. Dust a large board with flour and turn the dough out to knead. Knead in as much of the remaining flour as needed to make a smooth, elastic, non-sticky dough.

Grease a large bowl and put the dough into it. Cover and leave it to rise in a fairly warm place for about 1 hour. Punch it down and let it rise again until double in bulk

Divide the challah into two parts, one slightly larger than the other. Cut the larger part into 3 equal pieces. Roll the pieces into strips and form a fat, even braid. Place it in the middle of a buttered baking sheet. Now repeat this procedure with the smaller piece of dough, and place the second braid on top of the first.

Cover with a tea towel and let rise for about 1/2 hour. Brush the loaf heavily with egg yolk and sprinkle it generously with poppy or sesame seeds. Bake at 350 for 25-35 minutes (depends on nature of oven). Enjoy!

